Conference Themes
  Invited Presentations
  Prize Lecture
  Accepted Minisymposia
  Accepted Contributed Talks
  Accepted Posters
  The Vicent Caselles Student Award
  Student/Post-doc Travel Awards Recipients
  Conference Program and Arrangement
  Important Dates
  Conference Photos
  Conference Poster
  Conference Postcard
  Conference Venue
  Travel Information
  Hotel Information
  Visa Information
  Useful Links
The Vicent Caselles Student Award

Awardee: Dr. Vincent Duval

Talk — Fine properties of the TVL1 and the TV-G models: Geometry Versus Oscillations (Abstract)

In the past decade, the TVL1 and TV-G models have been used in many image processing applications, including denoising, geometry-texture decomposition, shape matching. Relying on results developed by V. Caselles and his collaborators for the study of the Rudin-Osher-Fatemi model, we analyze the fine properties of the minimizers of the TVL1 and the TV-G models. We describe the solutions of TVL1 by means of elementary morphological operations, and we exhibit some solutions of the TV-G model, highlighting a strong limitation on the produced decompositions.

The 2014 SIAM Conference on Imaging Science will honor Professor Vicent Caselles, who prematurely departed this world in August 2013, by awarding the Vicent Caselles Student Award.

Potential candidates should:

  • Have a PhD awarded in the period January 2010 - January 2014
  • Work must be related to one of Prof. Caselles contributions and areas of interest (e.g., image and video processing, variational formulations, PDEs, etc)
  • Candidates must submit a single journal quality paper representing their most significant work (paper can be already published, submitted, or a pre-print), together with a letter from their PhD advisor (or other senior researcher if not possible) explaining in detail how this work relates to Prof. Caselles' contributions and areas of interest. The submission, including only those 2 documents, should be e-mailed to Prof. Sapiro at guillermo.sapiro@duke.edu
  • Candidate must be able to travel to SIAM IS 2014 to receive the award

The award will consist of:

  • US$1000 dollars
  • Free registration to SIAM IS 2014
  • A 20 minutes talk presenting their work during one of the SIAM IS plenary sessions

The awards committee is formed by Olivier Faugeras, Jean-Michel Morel, Stan Osher, Antonin Chambolle, Andres Almansa, and Guillermo Sapiro. Students and/or co-authors of the committee members in any publication, including pre-prints or submitted manuscripts, during the period 2010-2014, cannot be considered for the award.

Deadline: 30 January 2014 (submission open 1 December 2013)
Recipient Announcement: 15 February 2014